Author Topic: Dual-wielding/Florentine fighting  (Read 5654 times)

Sir Pelleas

Dual-wielding/Florentine fighting
« on: October 29, 2010, 04:44:46 PM »
Hello!  I'm new to the system but excited to begin my first campaign with a few friends.

I can't seem to find any rules on a knight wielding two weapons at once.  Would a knight have to have a separate combat skill for a Florentine fighting style?  Or would each two-weapon combat roll incur a multiple-action penalty?  Or is there a different mechanic involved?

I apologize if there's a rule on this buried in the text somewhere.  If you could point me to it, I would appreciate it.

Offline Sir Pramalot

• Pendragon Council
  • Knight Lord
  • Glory Attained: 8
    • View Profile
    • KAP5
Re: Dual-wielding/Florentine fighting
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 08:23:53 AM »
There's nothing in the rules that deals with this subject - well at least not 4th or 5th ed - but there are plenty of house rules on the subject. For my part, I'm using a very basic setup; if you wield two weapons you can choose which one to use each round. That's it! Not too inspiring I admit. The advantage being that a PK can use a weapon more suited to the situation without suffering the penalty of changing and they do also have a backup should one of them be dropped or broken.

The problem really is one of game balance. Too good an advantage and everyone will use it, too bad and no one will. I've yet to hit on something that walks the fine line between both. Odd I admit, especially when you consider that in many movies, 2 weapon style is used almost exclusively. eg, from memory I struggle to think of a single sword+shield combat - on foot - in all of Excalibur.

Offline Gideon13

• Knight Bachelor
  • Glory Attained: 0
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2010, 10:47:02 AM »
Florentine is so common in movies because it looks cool no shield to block the views of the cool moves.